Georgia Tech at AAAI-22

Georgia Tech researchers and their collaborators have new published research in the Thirty-Sixth AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence which starts this week. The conference, Feb. 22 – March 1, is the main annual event for the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence and aims to promote research in, and responsible use of, artificial intelligence.

Georgia Tech is home to the Machine Learning Center and a leading community of researchers in the ML, AI, and data engineering and science disciplines.

Georgia Tech Research at AAAI

Sensor Sets for Epidemic Detection with Minimum Delay
Jack Heavey, Jiaming Cui, Chen Chen, B. Aditya Prakash, Anil Vullikanti

A Search Engine for Discovery of Scientific Challenges and Directions
Dan Lahav, Jon Saad Falcon, Bailey Kuehl, Sophie Johnson, Sravanthi Parasa, Noam Shomron, Duen Horng Chau, Diyi Yang, Eric Horvitz, Daniel S. Weld, Tom Hope

Fast Approximations for Job Shop Scheduling: A Lagrangian Dual Deep Learning Method
James Kotary, Ferdinando Fioretto, and Pascal Van Hentenryck.

LogicDef: An Interpretable Defense Framework Against Adversarial Examples via Inductive Scene Graph Reasoning
Yuan Yang, James C Kerce, Faramarz Fekri

Training a Resilient Q-Network against Observational Interference
Chao-Han Huck Yang, I-Te Danny Hung, Yi Ouyang, Pin-Yu Chen

Explanation as Question Answering based on Design Knowledge.
AAAI-2022 Workshop in Explainable Agency in AI.
Ashok Goel, Vrinda Nandan, Eric Gregori, Sungeun An, and Spencer Rugaber.

AAAI/ACM SIGAI Doctoral Dissertation Award

Recent alumnus Abhishek Das (CS PhD ’20) was selected as a runner-up for the AAAI / ACM SIGAI Doctoral Dissertation award, which highlights the most significant advances in AI, specifically the most significant PhD theses in all of AI submitted in the year 2020. Abhishek is now a research scientist at Meta’s fundamental AI research lab (FAIR). The award is presented annually at the AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence.

This is Georgia Tech’s second such award in recent years. The 2019 runner-up was Aishwarya Agrawal. Both Das and Agrawal were advised by Dhruv Batra, assoc. prof. in the School of Interactive Computing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.